Chaldeans and Assyrians in The United States

Churches in St. Peter Diocese

The second diocese or eparchy is St. Peter the Apostle of the Chaldeans and Assyrians and is based in San Diego, California. It has eleven parishes and three missions in nineteen States. The Diocese began with seven parishes and has expanded to eleven.

On May 21, 2002 St. Peter’s Chaldean Catholic Church in El Cajon, California became the seat of the second Chaldean diocese in the United States. It is now called St. Peter’s Cathedral.

The new diocese was established by Pope John II at the request of the bishops of the Chaldean Church and includes the following nineteen states: California, Arizona, Alaska, Colorado, Hawaii, Idaho, Kansas, Montana, Nebraska, Nevada, Oklahoma, New Mexico, North Dakota, South Dakota, Oregon, Texas, Utah, Washington, and Wyoming.

The Holy Father appointed as the first bishop of the newly established Diocese a Chaldean priest named Rev. Sarhad Yawsip Jammo; he was ordained a bishop on July 18, 2002 in Troy, Michigan. On July 25, 2002 Bishop Sarhad Yawsip was installed at St. Peter’s Chaldean Catholic Cathedral in San Diego.

St. Peter Diocese

Southern Vicariate
Vicar General: Archdeacon Sabri Kejbo
St. Peter Catholic Cathedral
St. Michael Mar Auraha
St. Barbara St. George


Northern Vicariate
Vicar: Fr. Kamal Bidawid
St. Thomas Assyrian Chaldean Catholic Church
St. Mary's St. Matthew
St. Paul St. Barnabas
St. Thomas Church



St. Joseph

Holy Family - AZ

Rabban Hermiz Mission
at Riverside

Our Lady of Perpetual Help


Monasteries, Convents and Seminaries

St. George Monastery Seminary of Mar Abba the Great
Chaldean Convent of Our Lady
of the Fields
(Workers of the Vineyard)
Chaldean Sisters of the Immaculate Conception


Mar Auraha
St. Peter Catholic Cathedral
St. Thomas
St. George
St. Mary
St. Michael
St. Paul

Other Parishes in the U.S.

Copyright ©2002-2009